Olivia Rodrigo, Daniel Nigro Named 2024 ASCAP Pop Music Songwriters Of The Year

Olivia Rodrigo and co-writer Daniel Nigro, who ruled the pop charts in the past year with “vampire” and “bad idea right?” have been named this year’s ASCAP Pop Music Songwriters of the Year.

This marks is the second win for Rodrigo, who first earned the honor in 2022.

Chappell Roan presented Nigro with the award at an event in Los Angeles celebrating this year’s ASCAP Pop Music Award winners.

British avant-pop and electronic sensation Charli XCX received the ASCAP Global Impact Award for the enduring worldwide popularity of her music. Charli is gearing up for the release of her sixth solo album, BRAT, on June 7 and a North American tour with Troye Sivan, who will present her with the award.

“Calm Down,” performed by Rema and featuring Selena Gomez, has won ASCAP Pop Song of the Year. It was co-written by Rema, Gomez, Michael “LONDON” Hunter, Amanda “Kiddo AI” Ibanez and Andre Vibez.

The Publisher of the Year award goes to Universal Music Publishing Group.

Other 2024 ASCAP Pop Music Award-winning songwriters include Mariah Carey and Walter Afanasieff (“All I Want for Christmas Is You”), Dua Lipa (“Dance the Night”), Noah Kahan (“Dial Drunk”), St. Vincent (“Cruel Summer”), Meghan Trainor (“Made You Look”) and Leon Thomas (“Snooze”).

The ASCAP Pop Music Awards honor the songwriters and publishers of the most-performed ASCAP pop songs of 2023.

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved